Mount Rushmore: A Sculpture Embodying The First 150 Years Of The United State's History

Mount Rushmore (also known as the Mount Rushmore National Memorial) is a grand sculpture located in the United States Presidential Memorial. It was established on March 3, 1925. Made by the famous American artist and sculptor Gutzon de la Mothe Borglum along with 400 other workers between October 4, 1927 and October 31, 1941, this granite sculpture symbolizes the first 150 years of the United States of America's history. This great historical landmark is located in Pennington County near Keystone, South Dakota, and it encompasses 1,278.45 acres and is measured at 5,725 feet above sea level.

The idea of this monument was conceived by South Dakota's state historian Jonah LeRoy “Doane” Robinson in 1923, and was the one who convinced

Borglum to accomplish it. Being an enormous 60-foot sculpture, Mount Rushmore shows the carvings of the heads of four former presidents of the United States, namely George Washington (1732 to 1799), Thomas Jefferson (1743 to 1826), Theodore Roosevelt (1858 to 1919) and Abraham Lincoln (1809 to 1965). These presidents were chosen by the sculptor due to their great role in upholding the Republic, as well as for the expansion of its domains.

The Mount Rushmore National Memorial is currently managed by the National Park Service (or NPS), a United States federal agency. Inside the memorial is the Lincoln Borglum Museum, which has two theaters showing a 13-minute movie regarding the monument. With tourism being the second largest industry of South Dakota, the landmark serves as the state's primary tourist attraction. It also serves as the home for the Rushmore Music Camp's last concerts, as well as attracting a great number of spectators of the annual American motorcycle rally known as the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally held every August. This great memorial is visited by millions of people every year.


Post a Comment